top of page
  • Writer's pictureWSU Sport Management

STUDENT SPOTLIGHT: Karsten Bailey


Karsten Bailey Undergraduate Student

What made you decide to study Sport Management at WSU? I decided to study Sport Management at WSU because the faculty and staff genuinely care for you and your future. They are always there if you need help and I always appreciated that. I also like the fact that campus is so diverse in the aspect that there's so many opportunities within shocker athletics.


Tell us about your internship at WSU Athletics. How did you get it? What do you do? Due to me being vocal about my dreams and goals, I acquired an internship position with WSU Compliance. People I met through working with the College of Education and the SMGT faculty, got me in touch with the Director of Compliance who was eager to have an undergrad intern. Right now, my primary focus is to oversee all the student athlete's living, employment and vehicle arrangements. Often, I analyze prospective student athlete's transcripts to see if they'd be eligible to play here. I love what I do because it gives me the perspective of a student athlete.


What are your career goals? My goal is to become a Sport Agent for NBA players. I plan on attaining a law degree as well to potentially become a lawyer and become an expert with contract negotiation.


What has been your favorite course that you have taken during your time in Sport Management? My favorite course so far was the Intro to Sport Management with Dr. Noble. It forced me to do something I never thought I'd do and that's coaching. Myself and a peer coached a youth flag football team and it was an amazing experience. We watched the kids get better from week 1 to week 8. I enjoyed the fact that in the course we also talked about current sporting events as well!


If a friend asked about your time in the program, what would you tell them? I would tell my friend that I loved every part of being in WSU Sport Management. Again, the faculty are never too busy to meet with you to get help and it makes college so simple. You feel like you have control of your own future and that keeps you sane when things get tough.


What has been your favorite part of the program? My favorite part of the program has been the practicum. It got me to be part of the Athletic department and I met some of the most important people in Athletics at WSU. Many of these people know me by name now because I always ask questions and they are always open to answer them.


What do you plan to do after you finish the program? After this program, I will pursue a law degree. I want to be part of the corporate side of sports because I am always learning. I want to see how business is conducted and how every detail can affect the product which would be the sport I’m associated with. This degree will then help me become a sport agent, which is the end goal. I want to work for the top agency there is out there and then break off and start my own.


What have you learned in this program that you plan on taking with you once you graduate? In this program, I have learned that you MUST communicate to get by. Things aligned perfectly during my time at WSU. I got a job to work for my college and it forced me to create relationships with so many important people. People do talk and if you do a good job they will vouch for you when you aren’t around. Dr. Noble said it best, “It’s not what you know it’s who you know; it’s not who you know it’s who knows you.” Introduce yourself when you see people who you think will benefit you and your future. Make a good first impression. Show them that you are intelligent and most importantly, care! I’m doing those things and I can see myself getting closer and closer to my goals.


In five words or less, how would you describe the Sport Management program? Caring, Passionate, Fun, Helpful, Giving

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page