top of page
  • Writer's pictureWSU Sport Management

STUDENT SPOTLIGHT: Caleb Janzen

Updated: Apr 19, 2019


Caleb Janzen is a Jr. in the Sport Management program at Wichita State and is working as an Operations Assistant with the 101st PGA Championship at Bethpage Black


What made you decide to study Sport Management at WSU?


I originally decided to study Sport Management at WSU because I had a passion for sports and I had a passion for numbers. These passions led me to pursue becoming a GM for an MLB team. As I have gone throughout the program, I decided to change plans and pursue working in the golf industry. I aspire to still work with numbers but more in a logistical or economical aspect to assist tournaments.



Tell us about any internships you have done or are currently doing? What do you hope to learn from your internship experiences.


I am currently working as an Operations Assistant with the 101stPGA Championship at Bethpage Black. My primary responsibilities include construction, daily operations, and tear down in the weeks leading up to, during, and after the tournament. My current position is the only full-time internship that I have done, however I have volunteered with many other organizations. This spring, I volunteered with The Player’s Championship serving on the construction committee. This role consisted of daily tasks to ensure proper furniture and fence were in the right location. I also assisted with commissary which included delivering food and or beverages to the appropriate locations throughout the course. During the summer of 2018 I worked with the Wichita Open, Web.com Tour event as an operations volunteer. The position consisted on assisting with construction, commissary, ecology, and daily operations. This volunteer position was our primary project in the Sport Tournament and Event Management class for the Sport Management curriculum. I also worked with the NBC World Series for my practicum during July and August of 2018. In this role I worked in a game day operations position assisting with the turnaround between games, and assisting with setup of dugouts, and preparation for games. I also operated the video board for most games. During the spring of 2018, I worked as a Media Relations volunteer for Wichita State Baseball. This position consisted primarily of running social media accounts during games and operating scoreboard. Also, during the spring of 2018, I volunteered as a Telecommunications Help Desk Volunteer, which consisted mostly of assisting Media with any questions they may have.

From these experiences I have and still hope to learn more about the industry, and to gain a better understanding of how sport events work in a hands-on setting. Additionally, I strive to learn the necessary skills and knowledge to make myself the best possible candidate for any future positions I pursue.



What are your career goals?


My career goal is to become a Tournament Director for a PGA or PGA Tour affiliated event. I love the aspect of organizing logistics and analyzing economic impacts to determine the best setup, design, and implementation to ensure the course and tournament are maximizing potential. One of the coolest things about working in sport is seeing the emotional impact on everyone following the specific event or sport that I am working in, and in doing so it creates life long memories for those individuals. It is cool to know that I was a part of making those memories possible. Creating lifetime memories and experiences is my main goal as I strive to become a Tournament Director.



What has been your favorite course that you have taken during your time in Sport Management?


My favorite course was the Sport Tournament and Event Management class offered over the summer. The main project was to volunteer with the Wichita Open, Web.com Tour event. This class really opened my eyes to working in the golf industry. I had always been interested in golf but was never completely aware of all the opportunities available to work in golf. I also enjoyed it because of the real-world experience gained. This experience was incredible as we were able to see almost every aspect that goes into running a professional tour event. Additionally, because of this class, it directed my attention towards working in the golf industry which allowed me the opportunities to volunteer at The Player’s Championship, and work as an Operations Assistant with the 101stPGA Championship this spring.



If a friend asked about your time in the program what would you tell them?


I would tell them it has been two of the best years of my life. I have been able to follow my passion of sport and develop a career all at the same time. Everyone within the program wants to see you succeed, and they do their best to help you.



What has been your favorite part of the program?


My favorite part of the program has been the support all faculty and staff within the program give. If you are driven or have a goal in mind everyone does all they can to help you achieve that goal, and ultimately help you to become leaders within the industry. Additionally, it is all the connections that I have made. These individuals have helped me along the way and opened new doors to pursue. Overall, everyone throughout the program wants to see you succeed not only in the sport industry, but also life in general.



What do you plan to do after you finish the program?


I am still undecided on my plans after I finish the program. If the right job presents itself, I will pursue that, but if not then I will pursue a master’s degree to further my education.



What have you learned in this program that you plan on taking with you once you graduate?


One of the key things I have learned throughout this program was how to be a professional in the sport industry. Every course and experiential learning opportunity have developed me more as a professional, and how to carry yourself within the sport workplace. This preparation has made me more prepared so that when I go into a workplace, I will be able to succeed.



In five words or less, how would you describe the Sport Management program?


Constantly striving for the best.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page