top of page
  • Writer's pictureWSU Sport Management

STUDENT SPOTLIGHT: Austin Bryant


Austin Bryant is a Sport Management student who has had the opportunity to intern with the Boston Red Sox and a PGA Championship event.

What made you decide to study Sport Management at WSU?

When I was a sophomore in high school somebody told me that my hair made me look like Ron Baker, and I didn’t know who that was. So I looked him up, watched a few highlights, and that turned into looking into the Wichita State basketball program. I admired their fan base’s passion and thought it would be worth applying to since they had my major. I then picked WSU over Michigan State and Louisville, because I wanted to be a part of working with one of the most passionate fan bases in the country.



Tell us about any Internships/jobs you have done or are currently doing?


My freshman year I was lucky enough to work with the WSU Athletics Marketing team. The following year, I was one of the marketing interns given the opportunity to work March Madness. After working March Madness, I got a job working for the Boston Red Sox, and I moved to Boston for 3 months. I got to work with and meet a lot of the players, which was really cool. The Red Sox went on to win the World Series, and as part of the staff, I received my own World Series ring. When I got back from Boston I applied to work for the PGA Championship in Long Island, New York. I switched my classes at WSU to online classes so I was able to relocate, and I was in New York for 3 months. I was able to meet golfers such as Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Brooks Koepka and more during my time there. This upcoming year I’m a part of the National Student Exchange program, and will be attending the University of South Carolina for a year and then returning to Wichita State to finish my degree in 2020. I will be working for the football team at South Carolina, which is a sport I’ve always wanted to work with, and the only major sport I have yet to work with.



What are your career goals?


My career goal is to become a director of marketing and fan engagement at a division one college. My former boss, Reggie McIntyre, holds that position at Wichita State. Reggie has an incredibly positive impact on every single person working for him in the marketing program. I see how he truly cares about his people and does everything he can to help them succeed, and I want to do exactly that when I (hopefully) hold that position at another college in the future.



What has been your favorite course that you have taken during your time in Sport Management?


My favorite course that I’ve taken so far has got to be Sport Law. That class taught me all the legal aspects of the sports world, and I learned something interesting each day.



If a friend asked about your time in the program, what would you tell them?


I would tell them that WSU helped me achieve all of my goals and more. If any student is interested in a career in sports, Wichita State is without a doubt the place to go.



What do you plan to do after you finish the program?


After I finish the program, I plan to move to Boston to continue working for the Red Sox for a few years, and then become a director of marketing and fan engagement at a university when the opportunity presents itself.



In five words or less, how would you describe the Sport Management program?


A supportive and encouraging family.



What advice would you give to upcoming students wanting to have a career in sports?


The only impossible journey is the one you never begin. By that I mean don’t be scared to apply to a job because of the fear of getting rejected, even if you feel like you have no chance. Put yourself out there, separate yourself from all the other students wanting a career in sports, and everything will fall into place.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page