top of page
  • Writer's pictureWSU Sport Management

STUDENT SPOTLIGHT: David Kirk


David Kirk is a second-year graduate student in the Sport Management program at Wichita State. David completed his internship with the National Baseball Congress (NBC) World Series.

Tell us a little bit about where you are from, where you went to college, and what you earned your degree in? I'm from a small town in central Texas named Salado. I went to college at Tarleton State University located in Stephenville, TX. There, I was able to continue my baseball career and earn my undergraduate degree, B.S. in Sport Management. What was your plan after earning your bachelor's degree? My goals were to be able to continue my opportunities in baseball or sport in general in some magnitude, I didn't know what would present itself but I had to keep an open mind. I took a job selling sporting goods with Barefoot Athletics. However, the long days and the mileage started to pile up and I decided to pursue another goal in teaching/coaching. While I was getting my teaching certificate I accepted a job in the commercial sales business. It turned out to be an 11 year profession, money was great but more importantly I learned business skills which will ultimately benefit me in the profession I am currently pursuing.


What made you decide to come back to school for your master's degree? My decision to come back to school was pretty simple, I didn't enjoy the position I was in. All my spare time was devoted to sport in some fashion and that is where, I knew, my enjoyment was. I could have chosen a different route but education is something nobody can take away from you. The cliché of ‘money can't buy happiness' was becoming all too real.


What was the transition like coming back to school after being in the workforce for a number of years? The transition for me, personally, was easy. I set goals with specific outcomes. I stayed focused. This is something that I'd learned from not only sport, but being in the workforce. I'm competitive. I typically set challenges for me that are, in nature, not easy. I embrace challenges. How did your career goals change since your undergraduate program and how will this Sport Management degree help you reach those goals? I can't say that my career goals have changed, but I am more focused on what I want to do. Although still an open mind on where I'll end up, I just now know that managing sport is what I want to do. At first, I didn't realize how much I enjoyed business but I always knew how much I enjoyed sports. This Sport Management program/degree has given me the opportunity to combine these enjoyments and give me a more in depth realization on how to run a sport organization. I strongly believe this path will help me attain this goal.


Do you have any advice for students who are transitioning back into school after taking time off? Stay focused. A decision has been made to make a change. You will run into obstacles and distractions, but keep your vision clear. You might even find it easier after taking some time off, you never know. And might as well throw in another one – ‘it's never too late.'

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page