top of page
  • Writer's pictureWSU Sport Management

STUDENT SPOTLIGHT: Hayden Schrag


Hayden Schrag Undergraduate Student

What made you decide to study Sport Management at WSU? I first visited Wichita State on a junior day event when I was in high school. After talking with many individuals within the department I felt right at home, knowing they would help put me in a great spot to succeed in my career in sports. Wichita State also helped me realize the fantastic atmosphere we have on campus as well as opportunities to be involved.


Tell us about any Internships you have done or are currently doing? What do you hope to learn from your internship experience? I am currently an intern for the Development Office within Wichita State Athletics. I help mainly with gameday events for men's basketball and will assist during baseball games in the near future as well. My different internships and my practicum work have been a fantastic tool for me to get on the job experience from people in the industry. Also, being able to network with these countless individuals has helped immensely and will hopefully continue to do so. I also stay busy on campus being a Resident Assistant in Shocker Hall, an executive member for Community Service Board, and sharing my Shocker experience to prospective students within Student Ambassador Society.


What are your career goals? Working in Major League Baseball within Baseball Operations is currently what I am striving towards for my career. I thoroughly enjoy player analysis and the challenges of fielding a well-rounded team. Though this requires many hours of experience, I hope to start this summer during my internship.


What has been your favorite course that you have taken during your time in Sport Management? My favorite course would have to be Sport Facility Management with Mr. John Lee. Mr. Lee is currently the Campus Recreation Director and gives great insight about different facilities from all across the globe. He gave me a behind-the-scenes look at what certain practices stadiums use today.


If a friend asked about your time in the program, what would you tell them? I would first tell them that the faculty support in our department has been outstanding. We have very talented individuals that are invested in each and every student, helping them to achieve their career goals within the sport industry. Coming to Wichita state and majoring in Sport Management has been one of the best decisions of my life and I can’t wait to see what is in store for me in the future.


What have you learned in this program that you plan on taking with you once you graduate? The largest thing I will take with me is the relationships I have been able to build with people in the sport industry. Whether it be faculty members or people I have met during my internship, those types of relationships will help with my employment in future roles and responsibilities.


In five words or less, how would you describe the Sport Management program? Collaborative, Efficient, Organized, Rewarding, and Supportive.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page