top of page
  • Writer's pictureWSU Sport Management

STUDENT SPOTLIGHT: Blake Molina


Blake Molina

Why did you choose Wichita State as an undergraduate student?

I chose WSU because I knew my senior year of high school that I wanted a career in sports. I looked up the kinds of jobs in sports, which confirmed that I wanted to work in the sport setting. Then, I looked up colleges that offered Sport Management/Administration/etc. Being from Wichita, it didn't take long to find out that Wichita State University not only had a program, but had a prestigious one. I actually attended Hutchinson Community College first, because I attended there at a cheap cost, and the Sport Management program was built to transfer to WSU. I worked in the Sports Information Department while at HCC, because I knew early on in my education that getting experience was important.


Why did you continue to graduate school, particularly at WSU?

Besides the convenience of not having to move, I liked the curriculum structure of the program. I know what I'm getting with the faculty here, and I definitely wanted to learn more from them. You're able to graduate in two years, and it allows an opportunity to get more experience via internship before graduating. The department is so well-connected with alumni that even though we're in Wichita, students are able to get placed anywhere in the country for their internships.


What has been your best experience as a student so far?

My favorite experience was the Alumni Reunion in the spring of 2015. I got to network and meet a lot of successful alumni from the program, and learn from them and ask questions during the breakout sessions. I got to listen to Kevin Weiberg, the current live-in faculty member of the department who was a former Big XII Commissioner, among other things, alum Nikki Epley, who's the Director of Stadium Operations for the College Football Playoffs, and Kevin DeShazo, founder of Fieldhouse Media and really knows his social media stuff. To top it all off, I was awarded the 2015 Sport Management Undergraduate of the Year award during the final night's banquet.


Do you have any advice for students who are considering graduate school?

I would say to strongly consider it if you want to work in a collegiate athletics administrative setting or obtain another high-ranking position. Master's degrees are becoming more of the norm. Also, if you feel like you need another internship to beef up the resume and LinkedIn/TeamWork Online profiles, I would strongly consider graduate school.


However, if you want to work in areas like ticketing, sales, etc. where a master's degree usually isn't necessary, you may not get enough return on the investment to justify attending graduate school. That's two more years of school (and not working somewhere), and thousands more dollars spent, that you may not need.


Lastly, I would say to look up the kind of career you want to have and go find job postings and requirements (TeamWork Online is great for this). Look at the requirements and determine if you're qualified to apply for the job (at the entry-level if necessary). If not, consider graduate school.


Do you have anybody in particular that you have looked to as a mentor?

I don't think there's any one person that I've had as a constant mentor, but I've had lots of people who have had an influence on me. Mike Ross, one of the faculty members, has great content in his courses. He helped boost my interest in working in communications/PR. All the instructors here are really engaging and have made me excited to work in sports. Our alumni are very supportive as well, they're willing to offer advice to students as well. Steve Carpenter, the Sports Information Director for HCC Athletics, showed me the long and hectic work hours of working in sports, while showing the kind of work ethic and passion required to survive in the field. The same could be said for Josh Robertson, General Manager of the Wichita Wingnuts, and the rest of the staff I worked with during my time there. I could go on and on. I've been fortunate to meet a lot of great people with experience working in sports.


What is your dream job?

My ultimate dream job would be a VP/Director (or similar title) of Communications/Media Relations for one of the three major professional teams in Kansas City (Chiefs, Royals, Sporting KC). I love Kansas City and its culture, it's not far from home, and I am a fan of those teams. Ultimately though, as long I can have a career in that area at a high professional level, I'd consider it a dream job!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page