top of page
  • Writer's pictureWSU Sport Management

ALUMNI HIGHLIGHT: Vanessa Buehne

Vanessa Buehne, Director of Programs. Derby Recreation Commission.


What’s your current position and can you give us a brief overview of what it is you do in your work? I am the Director of Programs at the Derby Recreation Commission and have been in this position for 4 months. I oversee all of our programs including aquatics, fitness, wellness, sports, art, special events and after school programs.

What would you say most motivates you to do what you do?  I love working in the recreation industry, where we can truly impact a person’s life. I enjoy working with people of all ages and having the ability to be creative and provide new programs or events for our clientele.

What led you to this job? During my graduate work at WSU, I took an internship with ESPN Wide World of Sports at the Walt Disney World Resort. I continued working there for 4 years as a Competition Coordinator, and my last position there was the Health and Fitness Expo Coordinator for runDisney. After that, I returned back to Wichita State and was most recently the Associate Director of Campus Recreation.

Did you have any key mentors or people who influenced you? My advisor, Clay Stoldt, was so kind, caring and helpful, and led me on the path to where I am today. Another person I will always remember and be thankful for was my manager at runDisney. Her leadership style is one that I related to and that I try to be as well.

Were there specific experiences you gained while studying in the Sport Management program that prepared you for the work you do today? I attribute where I am now to my school work at WSU. It was there that I learned of the internship program at Disney Sports. I also had the opportunity to be a Graduate Assistant in aquatics with Campus Recreation, plan and operate a golf tournament, and do multiple projects that related to what I would be doing as a professional. 

What advice or suggestions would you give to someone that wanted to pursue a degree in Sport Management? Sport Management is a great degree as it gives you flexibility in the path you want to go. One thing people should realize, is we work when everyone else plays. If you work for the NBA, you may work on Christmas Day. If you work for the NFL, chances are you’ll be working on Thanksgiving. You work nights, weekends, long days. There’s hard work that comes along with it, but it’s a fun and rewarding industry!


How did your experience at Wichita State help you find your first position after graduation? While I was in grad school, there was a current student doing an internship with Disney’s Wide World of Sports, and that’s how I learned of the program. My advisor helped me to apply and prep for the interview process. After the internship, I was hired on full time with Disney.


How difficult was it to transition from college life to your professional life? And what advice would you give to students that are close to graduation? It wasn’t too difficult. I do remember there being a transition during my internship because it was a 40 hour a week position. So that experience really helped me understand what a professional position is like. 

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page