top of page
  • Writer's pictureWSU Sport Management

ALUMNI HIGHLIGHT: Ryan Ketchersid

Updated: Dec 3, 2018


Ryan Ketchersid


Colorado Avalanche
Sales Representative Colorado Avalanche

As an inside sales representative, what is it that you do?

It’s a seasonal working job. 80-100 phone calls a day to people who have been to the Pepsi center. Asking what brought them to the games, ticket deals for future events, WIP appointment, questions involving their experience of the event, and if they would come to more events.


How did you get to where you are now after school?

Networking! Talking to people like the 2015 Hockey coordinator and building those connections through people I knew. Tyler Reddy was a big help for advice and showing me opportunities like the one I have today. Continuously applying for positions and if I failed to get the job, I kept working for it. Handling rejection is something I had to deal with and being consistent. Taking advice from people that I talk to as well and learning from them is big.


What’s the most important thing you’ve taken with you from our SMGT department?

First day in intro class, Dr. Noble said, “It’s not about who you know, it’s who knows you” and it’s like who knows you as a good source. I learned quickly that people will find you most of the time. I also found some really good recommendations through the department as well.


Transitioning from college to professional life, what’s been the most difficult transitioning?

Job application process and how competitive it is. It’s difficult until you get in and once you’re in and work hard, you can build through networking.


What advice would you give to future graduation students?

Attend networking events and checking for events online. Be willing to go places for the events even if it’s far away. Being aggressive and don’t be afraid to message people or contact them. Like follow ups can be helpful. Taking advantage of internships and volunteer opportunities. Handle rejection and keep trying afterwards.


Any mentors from WSU or anywhere else help you get to where you are now?

Tyler Reddy who is the community relations manager has been a huge help for where I’m at today. He was kind of a mentor and talked on the phone to help me. All of the professors I’ve had have been great help and help me find the right mindset.


What are your future goals for yourself?

Getting promoted to account representative. Building these connections with CSC who are the owners of the Nuggets, Avalanche, and many more teams. I’m very excited to continue grow in the industry.




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page