top of page

ALUMNI HIGHLIGHT: Sarah Ratzlaff

Wichita State University Sport Management Alumni


What is your current position and what made you pursue that job? Sports Business Development Manager for runDisney & ESPN Wide World of Sports. I took an internship with Disney Sports as part of my Sport Management Master program. I interned with the runDisney team in sales and was hired after my internship. I did not intentionally seek out this career path but discovered during my internship that sales and business development fit my skill set and the running industry and events are a lot of fun to be a part of.

What are the responsibilities associated with your position? Developing new business opportunities for runDisney and ESPN Wide World of Sports. This can include finding new ways to maximize revenue, building and maintaining relationships in the sports industry or building new events.

What is your favorite thing about your job? No two days are ever the same. Projects change and the business environment changes as well. I’ve never been a person who likes to do the same thing every day and this position affords me the advantage of seeking out new projects, solutions or partnerships on a daily basis. I also really enjoy race weekends – there is a certain electricity about being a part of a large running event and watching so many runners accomplish the goals they have trained many months for.

What was your most memorable experience while at Wichita State? I really enjoyed the trip the class took to Dallas to see the Dallas Mavericks play and meet with the team executives.

What is your advice for current students entering the job market? Work incredibly hard, always produce top notch work and be willing to do the jobs that no one else wants to do – you’ll build a positive reputation for yourself and learn something along the way. Most importantly, build a network of advocates and mentors for yourself and foster those relationships throughout your career.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page